California Is Looking at Colorado

California’s AB 2078 adds yet more confusion for multi-state sellers. The law requires vendors to post the requirement to pay sales tax on their websites or in their catalogs, as well as send in regular reports of these sales (Colorado also demands that a detailed notice be sent to the customers). Whereas Colorado’s law applies to businesses that sell more than $10,000 worth of merchandise in their state, California’s requires companies that receive at least $100,000 in the state to send in quarterly reports, which is going to start getting confusing for companies who sell in multiple states. Multi-state sellers should ask their representatives to enact federal standards, rather than continue to have these decisions made on a state-by-state basis.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s